Ballin’ on a Budget: Hair Product Edition

Are you a poor college student who has high maintenance hair? Of course you are! This blog is for you. I’m ballin’ on a budget these days. And that means I don’t have a lot of extra money to spend on high end products for my high maintenance hair.

Where do I even begin to describe my hair? It is a hot mess. It is very thick and heavy. I’m also #blessed with naturally curly and frizzy hair (kidding, not blessed). My hair tends to get oily after only a day, meaning I have to wash it more. Washing it too much can also dry out your hair and derive it from its natural oils, and that is no bueno.

But have no fear, Target products are here! That is just another reason why I LOVE Target. Their prices are cheaper compared to drugstores and they are college student friendly. You don’t need to go to a high-end salon to find good hair products. TRUST ME.

Check out some of the hair products I buy exclusively from Target, all under $7.00

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 11.28.55 AMHerbal Essences Dry Oil Spray $5.99 

My hair is very staticky, especially when it’s cold. This oil is a lifesaver. I have used other brands of argon and moroccan oil in the past, but this is by far the best. It’s a spray oil, so it distributes evenly over your hair and doesn’t weigh it down. It also lasts all day, so mist it evenly over your hair in the morning and you are good to go. As always when using any kind of oil, stick to the ends. Spraying on the top of your hair can lead to buildup and make it overly oily.

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 1.48.48 PMSuave Max Hold Hairspray $2.99

This hairspray is the bomb.com. It is by far the best I have ever used. It provides a hold that lasts all day. I have very thick, heavy hair, so finding a hairspray that holds all day is a big deal. A big problem with hairspray is the buildup you get from it. I have not had any problems with this brand. I have used it two days in a row without washing my hair and it always just brushes right out if I decide to restyle my hair. Another bonus, this bottle is HUGE. I bought this bottle in August and didn’t have to get a new one until January, and I’m a person who uses hairspray every day to combat frizz and fly away hairs. I highly recommend this hairspray to anyone looking to stay within a budget.

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 4.23.51 PMGarnier Fructis Sleek and Shine Flat Iron Protectant $4.99

Because my hair is naturally very curly and frizzy, I am constantly straightening and blow drying to to try and maintain control. The constant heat exposure can really dry your hair out, so using a good heat protectant can be a life-saver. I use this particular one before I straighten, curl, or blow dry my hair and it works wonders. I have had numerous hair stylists tell me how much healthier my hair looks from using this heat protectant.

I use all of the products listed above on a daily basis, and they really do tame the mane and make my life SO much easier. You can also check out Target’s full line of haircare products here.

 

Author: Maggie Wachtel

I am from Columbus, Ohio and currently studying Public Relations at Kent State University

Leave a comment